Profile photo of a State Farm Agent named: Don Self

State Farm® Insurance Agent Don Self

Rating: 5 stars out of 5 (29 reviews)

Leave Us a Review

Our customers are the center of our universe and we’re grateful for them. If you’re willing to share your experience about your interaction with our agency, it’ll be a great help for other people looking to make smart and confident decisions about their insurance and financial services.


Take 60 seconds (or more if you want) to share your story by clicking on one of the review links below.

What our customers say about us...

Kandy Galbraith

November 8, 2022

5  out of  5
"We have been with State Farm in Colledge Dale TN since the 1975 we have nothing but the highest respect for this insurance company. When they say they have great claims help they sure do. We would never look at any other insurance company no matter if it was much cheaper. Thank you Don and Richard Self your the best!"

Charles Merzbacher Jr

October 20, 2022

5  out of  5
"Always a quick response to any questions. Quality insurance and great rates!"

Lauri Clark

July 26, 2022

5  out of  5
"I had a very nice experience speaking with Donna Lacey during my initial inquiry of coverage. She handled all the details and made the switch seamless. The entire office was great to work with! I am very excited to be a part of the State Farm family."

Lauren Hemedinger

May 26, 2022

5  out of  5
"He is in touch with his clients. After all, it's a very difficult job; being an Agent. Selling your product is not easy and maintaining customers is very difficult."

Daryl Chesney

April 21, 2022

5  out of  5
"Someone is always promp to answer phone calls and answer questions. This office has been my agency for decades now."

A C

March 4, 2022

5  out of  5
"That moment where Don himself calls you on your Birthday just to wish you well! Trust me when I say this, his amicable nature filters down to his entire team. Does your agent do that? If not, then call Don. You will get more than just a coverage. =]"

John Tippit

November 16, 2021

5  out of  5
"Best customer service, welcoming. Donna worked hard for me . I am excited to be a customer."

Tom Turk

September 13, 2021

5  out of  5
"Always excellent service here whenever I call or stop by in person"

Sam King

August 6, 2021

5  out of  5
"Good and reliable services, good people you can talk to about your concerns, willing to help all the time, been a customer for 5 years, what do we need from other people..just a smile and good heart."

Jimmy Rhodes

February 7, 2021

5  out of  5
"Don and Richard are top notch! They handle all my insurance needs personal and business, they have never let me down and have always been there for me with flying colors. They are simply the best!"

Christine Keefe

February 3, 2021

5  out of  5
"Richard and Don Self are honest and straightforward. I am pleased with their service as my State Farm agents"

Jason Grear

February 3, 2021

5  out of  5
"Don Self team has been true partner for us since we moved to Chattanooga. Always same day response. Team takes customer service to highest level."

José Luiz de Andrade Junior

January 29, 2021

5  out of  5
"I high recommend!"

JD Wickham

December 18, 2020

5  out of  5
"Richard Self is one of the most honest and loyal men you will ever meet. You can trust he always has your best interest at heart."

Charmaine Alexander

June 4, 2020

5  out of  5
"I have been a customer of Don Self State Farm agency for the last 7 years. As a Canadian parent, insuring my children while they were in Tennessee for school was something I didn't know the first thing about. Walking into Don Self's agency, and sitting down with Donna Lacey, was so easy! I walked out of office feeling very much relieved that everything was taken care of. Through the years, I kept Donna busy for sure - kids changing cars, fender benders, and rental insurance. Donna (and if Donna was away - the rest of the team was awesome!) took care of it all. If I sent an email, I would typically have an answer within the hour. This was always appreciated since I was 14 hours away and sometimes frantic! I cannot say enough about Donna, her colleagues, and the service I received at this agency. Although my youngest has now graduated and left the area, I am still and will always be a State Farm customer because of the service I received at Don Self Agency."

Susanna Crouch

November 8, 2019

5  out of  5
"Friendly staff who take a personalized approach to your plans, questions and needs. Don self even called me personally to wish me and happy birthday."

Mark LaVertue

August 1, 2019

5  out of  5
"Don Self State Farm staff have always been very helpful and responsive to my needs, I would highly reccomend this agency."

Best Buy Videos

June 30, 2019

5  out of  5
"I can’t say enough nice things about State Farm along with Don Self and Anita Barto in particular. In fact, the entire office staff is like family. The fact that I have been with them over 50 years and have insured everything I own with them since day one tells you about all you need to know. There is one experience I must share as I think it is the icing on the cake. You hear so many horror stories about some insurance companies not covering certain claims on technicalities, so I must share a storm damage experience I went through with Don Self and State Farm. A little over 30 years ago my family and I spent a month in Hawaii in the middle of winter only to come home and find that that due to a winter storm the power went off in a little 900 sq. ft apartment that we used primarily for storage and I had never added it to our homeowners policy. When the power went off the water pipes froze and burst and virtually everything was ruined. Between the renovation and the property replacement cost we sustained a $48,000-dollar loss. Now what makes this story so unique is that I had no idea this little apartment was covered under my homeowners, but it was covered under the dwelling extension clause. So, here I am 3 years after the storm damage occured talking to Don Self and I just happen to mention about my unfortunate loss and he asked me if I turned in a claim and I told him no that it was not insured. He informed me it would be covered under the dwelling extension clause. I said wow wish I would have known. I told him I was sure it would be to late to turn in a claim. He said let me see what I can do. I want you to know he managed to get everything covered and the fact that I had receipts for just about everything made the whole claim process a pleasant experience. And one more thing I should also mention I have had several different companies try to entice me away from State Farm and while I knew their price would have to be a ton cheaper for me to even consider a change and then I still doubt I would leave. But guess what not a one has ever been able to beat their price. So, yes, I am definitely giving these folks 5 stars."

Jaycee Bell

August 11, 2017

5  out of  5
"My family has used State Farm for decades - generation after generation. Payment options & customer service has always been fantastic."